Interview with Alissa

 1. Tell us a bit about yourself!
I live in Vancouver, BC, Canada, and I’m studying for my Masters in English Lit. I love tea, reading and writing, movies, radio, podcasts, cooking and baking, and dogs.

2. What are some things you are currently looking forward too?

I’m looking forward to fall, actually. October-December is my favourite time of year!
I can’t wait to get cozy in my apartment with spiced tea, autumn baking, and movies. Especially watching Harry Potter…for some reason this is such a fall thing for me.
In the near term I’m going on a short weekend trip with my boyfriend soon, really looking forward to getting away from the city. I’m also looking forward to graduating…soon hopefully.

3. Fall is on its way, what are some of your favorite fashions trends that appear during the autumnal season?

I much prefer fall dressing over spring/summer. I love bundling up in layers: scarves, tights, boots, sweaters, and hats. Ankle boots have been really popular for many seasons, and I love them because they are so comfortable and versatile.

4. Do you have any favorite movies you could watch over and over again?

Yes, I love watching movies, it’s one of my favourite things to do. It’s hard to pick favourites but I’d say In the Mood for Love, The Science of Sleep, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Taxi Driver, My Winnipeg, A Serious Man, East of Eden, Roman Holiday, My Man Godfrey, Amelie, Breathless, and Tokyo Story (actually this movie is so sad, I don’t think I can watch it again. It’s amazing though). Miyazaki movies too 🙂 I could watch Forgetting Sarah Marshall any day because it’s so funny. Mean Girls and 13 Going on 30 are fun ones I could re-watch any day as well. Whenever I’m sick I always re-watch my favourite period pieces like Pride & Prejudice and Bright Star.
The movie I’ve watched the most is probably Moulin Rouge.

5. Is there a particular style of clothing that you really enjoy?

I tend to wear comfy clothes and shoes, because I hate being uncomfortable. That means I rarely wear heels. I usually stick to neutral and earth tones. I don’t wear a lot of bright colours and prints.
I like the whole minimal Scandinavian/avant-garde Japanese look in muted colour palettes and lots of assymmetry and beautiful draping.
But I also gravitate towards cozy Japanese mori girl-inspired looks. I guess that’s a weird combination but I can’t just stick to one look. The Japanese line pas de calais does a perfect “grown up mori girl” aesthetic that I love.

6. I am always looking for new music! Who are some of your favorite bands, or songs right now?

My boyfriend got me into Hayden, a Canadian singer-songwriter, and now I’m obsessed. He’s been around for a long time, and he has quite a following in Canada, but I only recently got into him. His music is very understated but I love his songwriting – it’s subtle, witty, and a little heartbreaking. His new album, Us Alone, is great.
Other than Hayden, lately I’ve been into Atoms For Peace (I listen to their album AMOK all the time), DIIV, Melody’s Echo Chamber, Foals, Hannah Georgas, Arctic Monkeys, and Mazzy Star. I’m addicted to Bloc Party’s new song, Ratchet,
Plus I’m always listening to my old favourites, like Radiohead, Blur, and Yo La Tengo.
7. Who are your favorite designers?
Although I can’t afford to shop for designer clothes, I do admire certain designers’ aesthetics. And sometimes I’m lucky and find things on super duper sale, or on consignment 🙂
I like Helmut Lang, Ann Demeulemeester, Tsumori Chisato, Comme des Garcons, 3.1 Phillip Lim, Rag & Bone, Acne, Haider Ackermann, Dries van Noten, APC, Alexander Wang, Ann-Sofie Back, Isabel Marant, Celine, Chloe, Yohji Yamamoto, Issey Miyake…etc

8. Do you have any favorite style icon celebrities?

I don’t know if I consider them icons, but I do love to see what Carey Mulligan and Clemence Poesy wear. And even though her look is more severe than I would wear, I love Rooney Mara’s look. I do take cues from some of the elements of her style.  I always find it interesting when people have a very defined “look” – something I can never quite commit to. I tend to be more interested in people’s casual styles than red carpet wear, though! It’s much more relatable and realistic.
I also admire Tilda Swinton’s style. Yukimi Nagano of Little Dragon has cool style too. As for non-celebrities…I love the blogger Charlie May’s style. Susie Bubble was the one who really turned me onto fashion, though.

9. What is an everyday routine for you?

I drink tea every day. Some days I’ll start off with coffee instead, but I always switch to tea throughout the day. I love all types of tea, but especially green tea and Earl Grey.

10. Tell us your current reading list? Do you have any favorite books or novels you have been wanting to read?

Ironically enough, even though I’m a lit student, I rarely have time these days to read for pleasure. But I have a huge “to read” list, and I keep accumulating books I plan on reading.

My friend recently gave me Joan Didion’s Slouching Toward Bethlehem, which I’m loving so far. It’s a collection of essays she published in the 60’s – it gives a fascinating portrait of America and particularly California during the time. The first story, “Some Dreamers of the Golden Dream,” is a noirish take on the events surrounding a murder of a man by his wife.
I’m also reading Mordecai Richler’s Solomon Gursky Was Here. A while ago I read Eden Robinson’s Monkey Beach, which was pretty great. I’ve been wanting to read Sheila Heti, James Salter, Jeannette Winterson, and The Night Circus.
I have a million favourite books..some of them are The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami, Hopeful Monsters by Hiromi Goto, The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, Barney’s Version by Mordecai Richler, Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh. I’m sure I forgot something brilliant! 

11. If you could go back in time and choose the era, what would it be?

The practical part of me says I wouldn’t go back in time, because the past kinda sucks in terms of opportunities and freedoms. I would choose the future, but then we have climate change to worry about…but since this question is purely fantasy anyway, I think I’d choose the ’20s, for the beautiful clothes, great music, and the parties 🙂

tumblr_mbp6alxfOs1rgzsqxo1_1280

tumblr_mqjzycv5Ju1rgzsqxo1_1280

tumblr_mh0bkamBvH1rgzsqxo1_1280

tumblr_mglwdsj5ie1rgzsqxo1_1280

yuki

I first encountered Alissa when she kindly asked me to do a commission painting for her friend. Immediately I felt a connection and could tell she was genuine and kind. This lady is classy, smart and has killer fashion sense. I really enjoy her taste in just about everything. Don’t forget to check out her tumblr. 

Also check out her polyvore. I get so much inspiration from her creations!

9a5b1cea3de7925e6d4a6ba47460c4fe 291cf399ff289a94db3e9a327b6c5c02

Leave a Reply

